top of page

You Call That Multitasking?


You Call That Multitasking?

No one is really ever multitasking, you only think that you are, which is not really helping you. On average teenager between 13 and 18 us more than six types of media simultaneously. Most teens use social media because they fear missing out on something important. This has led to many students paying an attention partially to everything they do, which causes them to have trouble concentrating on anything deeply. A person’s brain cannot be in two places at one time. One cannot do two things at one time, it will just take longer to try to multitask. When a person tries to do more than one thing at a time, the brain is faced with a choice. The decision made causes a delayed second to choose which one you’re going to do. (Sparks)

Now that I further understand that multitasking is nothing more than switching my attention from one thing to the other. I use multitasking when I'm at work or at least I thought I was using multitasking. When I'm at work you have to service customers and less than 30 seconds every time. This doesn’t always happen. Usually, when someone calls something back to me, I'm currently working on making pepperoni pizzas because we are constantly putting them in the oven. So when this happens I switch to making the customer's pizza, while listening for the next callback.

In Eisenhower's urgent/important principle article tells you how to figure whether your priorities are urgent or important. Eisenhower believes that the urgent is not important and the important is never urgent. The greatest part of good time management is being effective and efficient. Eisenhower says that “we must spend our time on things that are important and not just the ones that are urgent. To do this, and to minimize the stress of having too many tight deadlines, we need to understand this distinction.” The important things usually help us meet our professional and personal goals. Urgent things are usually something that helps other people meet their goals. (“Eisenhower’s Urgent/ Important Principle”)

Like Eisenhower’s Urgent/ Important Principle, Stephen Covey's time management matrix it also helps to distinguish the importance from urgency through four quadrants. The first quadrant is important deadlines with high urgency. When I use the time management matrix half of my time, usually fall into this quadrant because most of my time falls under quadrant three. Quadrant two is for long-term development and strategizing, which I rarely do because I usually go with the flow whatever comes up, I do. Quadrant three is for distractions with high urgency, also known as the procrastinator. I procrastinate a lot which prevents me from getting things done without being stressed. Quadrant four is for activities with little to no value, some of my time falls under this because usually when I procrastinate, I do something with value like clean and or do some grocery shopping. (Stephen Covey)

After I read each article about multitasking, I came to the conclusion that there is no such thing as multitasking. If a person believes they are multitasking they are really just slowing themselves down switching from on task to another. “Multitasking” is time-consuming and pointless. If a person just develops a good time management chart and follows it, they can get it task done faster doing them one by one.

Works Cited

Sparks, Sarah D. "Studies on Multitasking Highlight Value of Self-Control."Education Week. Sarah D. Sparks, 15 May 2012. Web. 20 Feb. 2016.

<http://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2012/05/16/31multitasking_ep.h31.html? tkn=PTWFGpBwR5o7bKrnCvQZswL8Vr%2BlUoJB%2B62c&cmp=clp-edweek>.

"Stephen Covey's Time Management Matrix Explained." Planet of Success. STEVE MUELLER, 09 Oct. 2015. Web. 20 Feb. 2016. <http://www.planetofsuccess.com/blog/2015/stephen-coveys- time-management-matrix-explained/>.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page